The Nielsen-Peckett Award recognizes the CCHL player that combines excellence on the ice with excellence in the classroom. This year’s recipient is Kanata Laser’s Alex Stothart who definitely excels in both. An assistant captain with the Kanata Lasers, Alex was third in team scoring with 42 points. Off the ice and in the classroom Alex’s academic performance was nothing short of spectacular. Alex graduated high school with a 93% average and is currently attending Queens University part-time in their Bachelors of Engineering program. As a true educational role-model of the CCHL Alex not only is enrolled in a challenging academic program but he is excelling in it with A’s and A+’s in the courses he has taken. Alex also scored an outstanding 2090 on his SAT.

This is a special year for the Neilsen-Peckett award and Alex is truly a worthy and deserving candidate. This year our league mourned the loss of Art Nielsen for whom the award was co-named. It’s important to the league that the winner not only satisfy the criteria of the award but also be the kind of player that Art would have admired. Pete Peckett, CCHL VP Team Information summed up how Art would have viewed Alex, “Art liked a player who worked hard and had the ability to contribute both offensively and defensively. Stothart is that type of player, he has been a leader for Kanata during his whole time there.” Art also looked for family involvement in the League. Alex's late father played for Nepean in the early years of the league and is still listed among the top all-time Raider's scorers. He succumbed to illness about 2 years ago.

Alex’s late father Paul Stothart, himself an engineering graduate from Queens was a star in the CCHL and the CIS and also an Assistant Captain just like Alex. Paul amassed 206 points in 88 CIS games, was a three time All-Canadian and three-time Ontario University Association Athletic Association all-star. The CCHL is proud to honour the accomplishments of Alex Stothart and hope that others learn from the example he has set.

Past CCHL Nielsen-Peckett Winners include:

2012-13 Chris Maniccia (Smiths Falls)

2011-12 Theo Hannah (Carleton Place)

2010-11 Andrew Creppin (Gloucester)

2009-10 Andrew Calof (Nepean)

2008-09 Justin Rothlingshoefer (Cornwall)

2007-08 Patrick Millette (Pembroke)

2006-07 Adam Marriner (Nepean)

2005-06 Ryne Gulliver (Cumberland)

2004-05 Brennan Sarazin (Nepean)

2003-04 Sean Roche (Kanata)

2002-03 Craig Nooyen (Cumberland)

2001-02 Matt O’Connor (Pembroke)

2000-01 Justin Spencer (Ottawa)

1999-2000 Ryan Steeves (Ottawa)

1998-99 Miguel Lafleche (Hawkesbury)

1997-98 Etienne Morin (Gloucester)

1996-97 Joey DiPenta (Smiths Falls)

1995-96 Eric Meloche (Cornwall)

1994-95 Christian Lavoie-Lebel (Hawkesbury)

1993-94 Simon Ferrand (Gloucester)

1992-93 Steve Wilson (Nepean)

1991-92 Jason Hanchuk (Gloucester)

1990-91 Stacey McGregor (Smiths Falls)

1989-90 Chris Baird (Nepean)

1988-89 Russ Hammond (Ottawa)

1987-88 Kevin Nolan (Nepean)

1986-87 Doug Derraugh (Hawkesbury)

1985-86 Rob White (Brockville)

1984-85 Robert Levasseur (Pembroke)

1983-84 Mark Mahon (Hawkesbury)

1982-83 Jeff Capello (Ottawa)

1981-82 Steve Kayser (Ottawa)

1980-81 Jim Kyte (Hawkesbury)

1979-80 Geoff Dervin (Ottawa)